Me: Days 26 – 30

Day 30: September 2, 2016

I made it to Day 30. I’ll recap my thoughts in more detail in my summary post in the next few days, but right now I’d give myself a B for my 30 Days of Me.

I made a lot of progress on my goals – health-wise and debt-wise. There were some things I did really well at, and some decisions I could have chosen more wisely.

I’ve got about month and half before the deadline for those goals, so I am going to keep working on them to the best of my ability, and I plan on having an update for everyone mid-October with good news. =)

Day 29: September 1, 2016

Damn you Matt! I sent him to Publix to get some wine for the dinner recipe and he shows back  up with French Onion dip and Ruffles chips. There’s a reason why we don’t keep that stuff in the house – it’s waaaaay too tempting. Le sigh. I guess a few won’t hurt…

chips.jpg
So bad, but so good…

At least I worked out today and followed up the chip indulgence with a healthy dinner – Parmesan-Crusted Avocado Benedicts. I think I found our new go-to weekend brunch staple.

avo.jpg

Day 28: August 31, 2016

PAY DAY!!!!!!!!!!

I have been waiting for today for the past month, as we get paid out our monthly bonus on the last paycheck of the month. July was my best month ever, so today’s paycheck was the highest one I have ever received. I used the proceeds to pay off my two credit cards and add to our savings. We still have about $1,800 left on Matt’s Amex from recent travel purchases we had to make for upcoming trips, and about $2,150 left on our Line of Credit from when we moved. (It turns out that coming up with the first and last month’s rent AND multiple deposits adds up quickly.)

That leaves us with about $3,950 before we are debt free again.

I am hoping we can have that taken care of by the end of September, or by my birthday at the latest, in accordance with my goal. That means we have to tighten the belt a bit when we are home over the next few months. Good thing we have a ton of shows on Netflix we want to watch…

PS: I paid off the couch today. The boys love it…

couch.jpg

Day 27: August 30, 2016

Bam! Double dippin’ today. I hit up the gym in the morning and over lunch. It’s actually not so bad to workout over lunch. The few times I have done it now, I am able to make it there, change, workout, change back, and return to the office in under an hour (or just about). I brought my blow dryer to the gym, too, which definitely helps reduce the sweatiness when I return to my desk.

For dinner tonight I tried another new recipe for artichoke cakes. The were good, but a little too artichoke-y for my taste. Matt doesn’t like artichoke very much so he didn’t like them. I think if I made it again, I would make it as a dip and add more vegan Parmesan cheese…

artichoke.jpg

Day 26: August 29, 2016

Let’s talk about Mondays for a sec. Like Fridays, I find it crucial to workout in the mornings on Mondays. I don’t know what it is, but when I get home from work on a Monday, the last thing I want to do is work. Or workout. If I don’t do it in the morning, then it doesn’t get done.

Adding to the mix is the fact that on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays there is a class at LA Fitness at 8:30am, which means I have to be done working out around 8:15am at the latest lest I risk the wrath of the ladies who like to come in early and set-up their area. Which is fine, except that Matt is in charge of waking us up in the morning, and on Mondays especially he likes to hit the snooze one too many times. Normally I can let this derail me and skip the gym, but today I made sure to squeeze it in, even though I was rushed.

Success!

Leave a comment